Red light.

Last April I visited the area of England that I grew up in (the North East). I’d been overseas for a long time, and was eager to get out and about to see my old haunts. I was struck by the dramatic light, and the changing light.
In Whitby, North Yorkshire the sea was rough, heavy and dark green. It was a bitterly cold day (or at least it felt that way to me, now that I’m acclimatised to the tropics!). As I was looking out across the harbour wall the light struck the red lighthouse sitting on top of the wall. The lighthouse stood out emblazoned, lively and proud against the sombre greens and greys of the sea. The image stuck, so I painted it.

Daniel, Bangkok, September 2016

lighthouse_ef

Leave a Reply

